22
Aug
12

D&D: The Eighth One – Campaign Conclusion

D&D: THE EIGHTH ONE – CAMPAIGN CONCLUSION
PREVIOUS: The Eighth One – Translation 3
NEXT: D&D: The Eighth One – Home

On the whole, I enjoyed running this campaign. Unfortunately, I never got the impression that my players particularly cared for it. They certainly did not share the enthusiasm for it that they had for our Shadowrun campaigns. They were kind enough to indulge my romp through D&D with them, but they all seemed more eager to get back to our Shadowrun game.

I would say this campaign featured more missteps and mistakes along the way than  our other games as well. A large part of this, no doubt, is due to the fact that the story, sessions, characters, etc. were completely hand crafted by me. It was definitely an experience building time for me. A second part of it may have been the stated, short term nature of the campaign which may have caused my players to approach it as a more casual, throw away set of sessions than I really intended for it. I definately failed to get proper feedback from my players regarding their feelings for the game, where it succeeded for them, where it failed and just how much they actually enjoyed it (or not).

I would love to tackle D&D again in a long term situation like I am with my Shadowrun games, but at the very least I expect I’ll have to do it when its not a “between games” initiative.

Still, I do have some future things planned for this story. You’ll just have to wait and see where they turn up.

– Geoff

PREVIOUS: The Eighth One – Translation 3
NEXT: D&D: The Eighth One – Home
1 Response to “D&D: The Eighth One – Campaign Conclusion”


  1. 17 September 2012 at 01:57

    The treasure Pile: Plan your treasure. A lot of novice DM’s use the treasure pile as a reward — avoid this. I had been playing with the current group for six years before they got their first magic item. Use the treasure pile to lead to the next adventures. Treasure should have a story. A good story always gives the reader what they want, but does it in an unexpected way. Treasure is often stolen from other people and places, and something that may be a trinket to the PC’s is immensely valuable elsewhere. The next part of the story lies in the elsewhere. Include letters in the treasure pile from some far off king pleading to have a glass key returned. Include the glass key in the treasure pile. In order to cash in on the treasure they have to find either the King — or whatever it is that the key will open. Twist on treasure from my campaign: Dragons sit on treasure because they take energy from magic. They don’t know what is magic so they sit on valuable items (they are likely to be magic). After many years the dragon draws the magic out of the treasure and becomes more powerful, or magical, themselves. Young Dragons haven’t acquire much treasure yet — old dragons have absored the magic from their piles. The players will pull out their hair over that connundrum.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Archived Logs

Enter your email address to subscribe tothese logs and receive email notifications when new ones are posted.

Join 190 other followers


